FAQ

Placement

Placement on underfloor heating

Engineered wooden floors are more suitable than solid wooden floors. They are more stable, since they are constructed out of two or more layers. Nevertheless, there are some rules to be observed when placing parquet on underfloor heating. We recommend the installing of the floor is left to a parquet professional.

In any case the heating system should not be switched on during the installation of the floor.  Room temperature should be between 18 and 24C° during installation.

Heating systems suitable for use with parquet are:

  • the WET system (heating tubes located in the overlay, so the layer covering the heating tubes should be at least 5 cm thick) and
  • the DRY system (uses heat-conducting plates).

Electric underfloor heating is not suitable, since it is subject to thermal shocks resulting from changes in temperature. This can have a negative effect on parquet flooring. Make sure the temperature of the water is kept as even as possible. This means changes between day- and night-time temperatures should be kept to a minimum – with preferably no change at all.

Note that, whatever the system, the maximum water temperature should be limited to 38°C. The surface of the floor should be under 25°C and be kept stable.  The usage of a humidifier in the room is imperative; this is also good for health.

Also note that the moisture level of a cementitious screed should be below 1.8%. For anhydrous screed, the moisture level should be no more than 0.3%.

The number one rule is never to turn the underfloor heating up too high, and to ensure that day- and night-time temperatures are kept even (avoiding thermal shocks).

It is also very important that the relative humidity in a room with underfloor heated parquet should be kept between 45 and 60%.

If using underfloor heating, the parquet should be completely glued down using the correct glue. Make sure to check whether this glue is suitable for use with underfloor heating before the floor is installed.

Following Installation:

Start-up protocol for all systems:  The start-up should go gradually with a 2°C increase of the water per day, as well as the switch off protocol.  The producer of the underfloor heating system should provide the appropriate method for the start-up protocol, which should be followed to the letter. If the underfloor heating system needs to be switched off, the protocol should be reversed.

As always, take into account general installation and conditioning regulations.

A frequently made mistake is that, following its installation, the parquet is covered by materials that are non-permeable by heat or air, e.g. for protecting against paint. This can cause problems, and should be avoided at all times.  Other items like carpets for example are will also increase the heat on local areas and can lead to problems.

Underfloor cooling does not work well with parquet. If an underfloor cooling system is used, the temperature of the water flowing through the tubes should never fall below 18°C.

Do not place rugs or carpets on parquet with underfloor heating!

Placement and aftercare

Congratulations on choosing a Helcofloors quality parquet. Please inspect your purchase to make sure the colour, type, size, and structure are correct and match your expectations before you begin the installation.

Before Installation:

Warehouse Storage and Conditioning

The storage room/site should be perfectly dry and sealed, with a temperature between 18 and 20°C. Relative humidity should be kept between 40 and 65°%.

Moisture levels of the foundation should be no more than 2.5%, which is for the party responsible for placement to determine. This applies not only to the surface layer, but to the entire foundation. The foundation should be tidy, degreased, dry, and in immaculate condition.

Parquet should be stored horizontally in the room in which it is to be used, with room temperatures kept between 18 and 20°C. Relative humidity should be kept consistently between 40 and 65%. Leave the materials in their original packaging for at least 48 hours before beginning installation. Packages should only be opened when their contents are ready to be installed.

Parquet should be installed on a firm, rigid surface that is pressure- and movement-proof. The surface should be cleaned thoroughly, removing any dust or fragments. The surface should be completely even – if not, it should be repaired/levelled before the parquet is installed.

If installing the parquet on an underfloor heating system, please refer to “Parquet on Underfloor Heating”.

Maintenance

Maintenance of your parquet

Guarantee

Guarantee

FAQ

Subscribe to our newsletter

{{ newsletter_message }}

x

{{ popup_title }}

{{ popup_close_text }}

x

FAQ

Placement

Placement sur le chauffage par le sol

Les planchers en bois composites conviennent mieux que les planchers massifs car ils sont plus stables. En effet, leur structure se compose de deux ou plusieurs couches. Il faut toutefois respecter certaines règles lors d’un placement de parquet sur un chauffage au sol, et il vaut mieux ne pas le faire soi-même et nous recommandons dans ce cas de le faire réaliser par un poseur de parquet professionnel. 

Les systèmes de chauffages qu’il est possible d’associer à un parquet sont les suivantes :

  • le système humide (les tuyaux de chauffage se trouvent dans le revêtement et la couche au-dessus des tuyaux de chauffage doit avoir une épaisseur de minium 5 cm), ainsi que
  • le système sec (système avec des plaques de conduction de la chaleur). 

Le chauffage électrique au sol ne convient toutefois pas car les variations de température provoquent des chocs thermiques, ce qui engendre des problèmes. Veillez toujours à garder une température de l’eau la plus constante possible et donc une différence minime entre la température diurne et nocturne, ou il vaut mieux que vous la gardiez constante. 

Vérifiez bien que, quel que soit le système, la température maximale de l’eau ne dépasse pas 38°C.

Faites également attention au taux d’humidité de masse pour une chape liée au ciment pour que celui-ci ne soit pas inférieur à 1,8%. Pour une chape liée à l’anhydrite, cela doit être de l’ordre de 0,3% maximum.

Une règle d’or est de ne pas mettre le chauffage au sol trop chaud, de le laisser tourner jour et nuit à température égale (éviter les chocs thermiques). 

L’humidité de l’air relative dans la pièce doit rester entre 45 et 60%. C’est également très important. 

Avec un chauffage au sol, le parquet doit être collé entièrement avec la colle adéquate. Contrôlez donc avant le placement si la colle est adaptée ou pas pour le chauffage au sol !

Après le placement :

Protocole de chauffage pour tous les systèmes. Pour ce faire, vous/le poseur doit compléter et conserver un document comprenant tous les détails du déroulement du protocole de mise en service. Le fabricant du système de chauffage au sol employé doit donner le système adéquat pour le protocole de mise en service qu’il faut suivre scrupuleusement. En coupant le chauffage au sol, il faut suivre le protocole dans le sens inverse. 

Tenez toujours compte des prescriptions générales de placement et de finition.

Une erreur que l’on commet souvent après avoir placé le parquet est de le couvrir de matériaux qui ne laissent pas passer l’air et la chaleur, afin de le protéger par exemple des travaux de peinture. Cela peut causer des problèmes. Veillez donc à l’éviter.

Le refroidissement du sol ne fait pas bon ménage avec le parquet. Assurez-vous que la température de l’eau qui coule dans les tuyaux ne descendra jamais sous 18°C.

Ne placez donc jamais de tapis sur du parquet associé à un chauffage au sol !

Placement et soins

Vous avez choisi un parquet Helcofloors, et donc un parquet de qualité. Avant le placement, vérifiez bien qu’il s’agit de la bonne couleur, de du bon type, des bonnes dimensions et de la bonne structure et que tout cela répond bien à vos attentes.  

Avant le placement :

Stockage et conditionnement sur le chantier

Le local / la pièce doit être parfaitement sèche et fermée, à une température ambiante comprise entre 18 et 20°C. L’humidité de l’air relative doit rester constante entre 40 et 65°%.

Le support doit comporter moins de 2,5% d’humidité ; le poseur doit le vérifier. Non seulement à la surface, mais à travers tout le support. Le support doit être propre, dégraissé, sec et en parfait état et exempt de résidus et de poussière.    

Le parquet doit être stocké horizontalement dans le local en question où il sera placé, à température ambiante entre 18 et 20°C.  L’humidité de l’air relative doit rester constante entre 40 et 65°%. Laissez le matériau dans son emballage original pendant au moins 48 heures avant de commencer à le placer. Les emballages doivent être uniquement ouverts au moment du placement.

Le placement doit se faire sur un support dur et rigide pouvant résister à la pression et au mouvement. Nettoyez le support en profondeur afin d’enlever toutes les poussières et les résidus et contrôlez qu’il soit parfaitement plat. Le support doit être réparé/lissé si nécessaire avant de placer le parquet. 

Si vous faites le placement sur un chauffage au sol, lisez « placement sur chauffage au sol ».

Maintenance

Entretien de votre parquet

Garantie

Garantie

FAQ

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter

{{ newsletter_message }}

x

{{ popup_title }}

{{ popup_close_text }}

x